Six month anniversary

Yesterday was a bittersweet day. It was my birthday, but also the six month anniversary of Chicken’s death. I still feel blindsided by her passing. It was just so totally unexpected. I get angry when I think about it and I second guess my care for her. Everyone knew she had a gallop rhythm in her heart, but no one seemed concerned so we weren’t either. Now, I just wish I had pushed the issue a little and gotten her on some sort of heart medicine. Chances are it wouldn’t have helped, but I wish I had fought to at least have given her the chance.

Steve and I were talking about Chicken and how she was just different from any other cat we’ve ever had. I think he summed it up perfectly when he said that there was just always a little more going on behind Chicken’s eyes. She was the smartest cat I’ve ever known and very intuitive.

I just feel like I failed her at the end. I’ll never forget leaving her at the CARE Center that day and the way she looked at us. There was nothing else we could do though. She was getting the best possible care.

I’ve never named her vaccinating veterinarian and I’m not even sure why. I think I felt some sort of loyalty to him because he took care of our animals for so many years, but not anymore. His incompetence nearly caused another of my cats to die as well (from diabetes). He vaccinated ALL of my cats YEARLY with THREE-YEAR vaccines IN THE SCRUFF area. He knew about VAS yet never warned us. So, I’m done being loyal. If Dr. Ronald Abrams at Loveland Animal Hospital is your vet, I highly recommend you switch veterinarians immediately to anyone else.

Here is one of the last pictures taken of Chicken.Pfizer

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Six month anniversary

  1. Kevin says:

    I teared up reading this Jenny. You didn’t fail Chicken, you did all you could for her. I’m sorry you lost her while you weren’t there, I know that pain all too well. Chicken was special, and you’re right about her eyes. I am honored you let me use her picture on the vascats site.

  2. Jeff says:

    Hi again. It is so nice to read the feelings toward loved cats from another person who loves them.
    I’m the person who posted a few months ago about bringing my cats back from Japan – 2 mid-aged cats and 2 senior cats: one with hyperthyroidism (White Socks) and the other who had an operation to remove her left hind leg due to cancer caused by a vaccine shot and who has IBD (Ms. Tiger).

    I hope it is ok if I could post on your blog some things I am facing with one of my senior cats. I basically have no one else that I can share my feelings with who also really loves cats and seems to feel about them like I do.

    I have been struggling to get Ms. Tiger with IBD to regain weight. Over the last few months, I tried twice to give her a different diet than her prescription Hills z/d diet because she has not been regaining her weight with Hills z/d. (It is also very expensive.) But she does not vomit as much with the prescription diet and when she does the volume is far less than other food. Each of the 2 times I tried something else, she vomited a massive amount (at least 200cc) and stopped eating afterwards. I had to assist feed her both times to re-start her eating and get her substanence (cats organs — kidneys or liver I forget which — fail when they haven’t eaten for an extended period like 4 days). She was 3.3 kg last September before bringing her back to the U.S. The last couple days she has been a little over 1.9 kg. The doctor had said that if she drops to around 1.7 kg or so, she could die. I keep putting her in her food cage to get her to eat but she does not really gain weight and every time something happens where she vomits she seems to permanently loose more weight. (The 4 cats have separate cages due to the senior cats’ prescription diets that they enter via “super selective” cat door which unlocks via an id tag on their collars — each can only enter their own cage.) Oh, man for those of us whose cats are truly family members, it is very worrisome and emotional. I adopted the two senior cats in 1995 (2 years after I began working following college). They have been with me for most of my working life to now and have always been there for me when I needed a friendly cat to pet. My wife does not understand this. She says “They are just animals.” She told me I can’t bring them to the vet anymore due to the cost and my currently being out of work until I am able to get work again.

    Any way, as mentioned in the beginning, I really like reading your blog because I can tell how much you really love your cats and I feel the same about mine. I know that Chicken had a very wonderful, special life, because she had you loving and caring for her.

    • Diana says:

      Jeff, I have gone through having a cat with IBD. I will cut to the chase. I researched for a med to stimulate appetite as my guy was severely anorexic. I found a human drug called remeron (mirtazapine) and it worked really well (found on a university site but I can’t remember which). But the most important change I made was switching to a raw diet. The diets you mention to me were recommended by my vet but when I asked what all the chemicals were for and he couldn’t tell me I knew this couldn’t be good for Moslon. So I found catnutrition.org (as Jenny recommended) and made the switch. My cat perked up pretty quickly. The vomiting stopped, he gained some weight and he had some great months after that. Sadly he was diagnosed with a jaw cancer that treatment would have be cruel for. I hope that helps. As an aside, my other cats are freakishly healthy and even my vet concedes this, as he never agreed with the raw diet. I found it was pretty much the same cost as good wet food, but way healthier.

      Hi Jenny, I visited this site as I was perusing Dr. Piersons site and saw your and Chicken’s story. I am so sorry for your loss. You are very brave to fight big pharma. I used to work as a nurse researcher thinking I would be doing some good. I learned this was not the case very fast and had to quit. This should not happen. GSK is paying 3.5 BILLION for lying about what drugs do to people, of course it will be the same for animals. It takes people with moral fortitude to do right in a big company but sadly money buys that right out of most.

  3. Jeff,
    Of course you can post about your kitty problems here! I do love kitties and all animals in general!
    I haven’t had a kitty with IBD, but do have kitties with kidney disease and diabetes. I’ve learned a lot about cat nutrition while dealing with both of these issues and I will say the biggest lesson I’ve learned is that dry food is the devil. Unfortunately, kitties LOVE dry food! I had to transition all of mine from dry to wet and raw food when Sue developed diabetes. Dry food was killing him (too many carbohydrates). Have you ever heard of Dr. Pierson? She helped me tremendously with Sue’s diabetes, Riley’s kidney disease and Chicken’s fight with cancer. She is an expert on feline nutrition. You can read about it here: http://www.catinfo.org/ . She is available for consults as well. It’s not terribly expensive, but it is an expense- one well worth it in my opinion IF you can afford it. You can email her at: DrPierson@catinfo.org if you are interested in setting up a phone consult (she’s in CA).

    I will say that I think prescription diets are crap. Look at the ingredients. They are not good and they are EXPENSIVE. My cats threw up all the time (daily) when they ate dry food. I transitioned them slowly to wet food (and sometimes raw – which they LOVE) and the throwing up has stopped, except for the occasional scarf and barf!

    I’ll let you read Dr. Pierson’s site and form your own opinions, but diet is the most important thing for a kitty (and a human). My cats now eat a mix of canned Wellness, Merrick BG, Evo and Fancy Feast (poultry and beef flavors only – NO FISH). Fish is also more apt to be contaminated with heavy metals and PBDEs. PBDEs are fire retardant chemicals that have a possible link to hyperthyroidism. Because fish is so palatable to most cats, many cat foods do contain some fish so be careful to read the labels. (From Dr. Pierson’s site)

    Good luck and do let me know how Ms. Tiger is doing. How is your amputee kitty who had VAS?

    Jenny

  4. Jeff,

    I found this and it sounds very promising. I can’t say enough about a grainless diet, especially raw. When I switched Chicken to raw food, she became like a kitten again at 13 years old!

    http://www.catnutrition.org/ibd.html

  5. Jeff says:

    Jenny,
    Thank you for the info!! I have had all my cats on dry food until the two senior cats developed their ailments. Now they are on wet food and the two middle-aged cats are still on dry because I have a lot of it. I think after the middle-aged cats eat through the dry food, I will give wet food to them too.
    I am going to read about Dr. Pierson at catinfo.org. If I contact her, can I mention that I was referred to her by you or should I not mention being referred?

    Ms. Tiger is the cat who had VAS and lost her hind leg to it. The doctor’s at Tufts Veterinary School (great Vet!) noticed her IBD when she was staying there in recovery. They were very surprised by the quantity that she threw up. I had been giving her Innova Senior wet food for many weeks after she came home from her operation. She seemed to do well with it and even gained some weight. However, she suddenly started to loose weight again. I then gave her the dry food of the same Innova Senior and that lead to the first major struggle with her weight really plummeting and needing me to intervene with assist feeding to jump start her eating again to save her life. So I then switched to the Hills z/d wet which apparently “hydrolizes the proteins for easier digestion” which was how the doctor’s described it. Three days ago, after having given her Blue Wilderness Duck wet food, which the label says is 95% Duck and Grain-Free, to try and then being faced with needing to assist feed her again, I have had her back on the prescription z/d and she seems to be doing better today. I am kind of scared to try anything else. I am putting her food on my hand and letting her lick it from my hand several times a day to help her eat more. That seems to help.
    Jeff

  6. You can absolutely mention me! Dr. Pierson knows me well! Chicken is profiled on Dr. P’s website on her section under vaccines!

  7. Jeff says:

    Wow! Jenny this is really great info. Chicken’s beneficial experience with raw food and the first paragraph of the catnutritian.org link – “… all of my cat’s inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) symptoms disappeared – quite literally – within 24 hours …” – are very eye-opening. I will look at that very closely.
    Thank you so much, I really appreciate it!!

  8. Lark says:

    I can really empathize with you when you say you question your care for Chicken. I foster & have lost a few kitties. I wonder what I could have done differently. After my most recent loss, my vet sent this card, which I would like to share: Grieve not, nor speak of me with tears, but laugh & talk of me as if I were beside you. Do not let the thought of me be sad, for I am loving you as I always have. You were so good to me! I loved you so…’Twas heaven here with you. -Isla Paschel Richardson

Leave a Reply

