Radiation day 4 – 12/31/10 – Chicken rang in the new year in the ER :(

Unfortunately, Chicken spent the first part of 2011 in the emergency room at the CARE center. She seems to be better now, but I’ll recap what happened.

Chicken was fine until 12:15 a.m., then she sat still, closed her eyes and her head began to shake. It wasn’t violently shaking, more like a tremor. I took her upstairs and she kept doing it.

I fed her and she ate the whole meal, but was still tremoring, so I took her in. They noticed tremors of her ears, but not her whole head. We left her at 4 a.m. and went home to get a little sleep. At 9 a.m. I called and she hadn’t eaten (since midnight) so I took her some food and visited with her. They ended up letting me take her home to keep an eye on her (she thinks I sprang her from the pokey!).

They’re not sure what caused the tremors. It was seizure-like, but very subtle. I don’t know if it’s from all the anesthesia? They said when cats have that much anesthesia it can throw off their chemistry. Her phosphorous level is slightly low and her cholesterol and GGT levels are somewhat elevated.

I want to see how she does the rest of the weekend. If she is fine and then starts this again when she starts the radiation treatments on Monday, we may have to rethink the radiation. I hate to say that, but Chicken’s quality of life is the most important thing to us.

She is peacefully sleeping right now. She spent part of the morning under the couch. I think she was letting me know that she does not plan to go back to the CARE center any time soon!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

