Pfizer won’t take responsibility

I called Pfizer yesterday to advise Dr. Tan of the amount of the radiation bill (Dr. Tan asked my vet to have me do this). Dr. Tan would not speak with me and I was told “Pfizer does not have a reimbursement policy.” I didn’t ask if Pfizer had a reimbursement policy. I want Pfizer to take responsibility for what THEIR vaccines did to my cat. I know all vaccines have risks. Let’s take a look at those said risks:

Leukocell 2 FeLV vaccine warning on the product information page:
“Postvaccination reactions have been observed in about 2% of vaccinated cats. These included stinging on injection, transient listlessness, depression, and brief temperature elevations. Hypersensitivity evidenced by myxedema and gastrointestinal distress (vomiting and bowel evacuation) occasionally has been reported.” You can read it in its entirety here.

Defensor 3 Rabies vaccine warning on the product information page:
“As with many vaccines, anaphylaxis may occur after use. Initial antidote of epinephrine is recommended and should be followed with appropriate supportive therapy.” You can read it in its entirety here.

If those are the only risks involved, why does my cat have a malignant fibrous histiocytoma, which is one histologic variant of post vaccine sarcomas? The link between vaccines and cancer in cats at the vaccination site was made in 1991 by Mattie Hendrick. You can read about it here.

Does Pfizer truly care about the well being of our pets? If I had known of the possible risks I could have made a more informed decision. If the risks of the vaccines were disclosed, I would have diligently checked all of my cats for signs of an adverse reaction. Pfizer didn’t tell me. Pfizer still doesn’t tell anyone.

This also makes me wonder about possible side effects of all of Pfizer’s products. It’s clear they know the risks, yet do not disclose them. How do I know Pfizer knows of the risks of vaccine associated sarcomas and variant sarcoma cancers? Pfizer donated $250,000 to the AVMA’s Vaccine-Associated Feline Sarcoma Task Force. Why would Pfizer donate money to the task force if they weren’t aware of the risk of Vaccine-Associated Feline Sarcomas? Are we supposed to be impressed by the donation of $250,000? Pfizer reported a full year 2009 revenue of 50 billion dollars. You can read that here. That’s .0005% of their revenue from 2009.

Check out Chicken on Facebook and be sure to “like” her page!
Chicken the Cat on Facebook

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pfizer won’t take responsibility

  1. Ettel E says:

    I’m so sorry you had such an icky experience with them, though to tell you the truth, I’m not completely surprised.

    Keep fighting. It’s people like you who make the big changes happen.

  2. Kevin & Stimpy says:

    Excellent post Jenny! I would suggest posting Pfizer’s contact information here so we can all send letters of protest to them on how they are killing cats and not taking responsibility. Stay on their “tails” and do not give up. Make sure Pfizer knows about your blog too…send them a “Pet Cemetery” letter and believe me, they WILL notice. Make sure you put the blog address on the outside of the envelope too. I imagine Pfizer’s lawyers would threaten a lawsuit trying to silence you but just imagine the bad publicity for them? Hang in there Chicken…you have a good advocate behind you as well as all of your fans.

  3. Vanelle Huff says:

    Hi. I’m Vanelle, from Brazil. I have a 8years-yellow-cat and now my heart is broken since I discovery he has this sarcoma. He always taken a Fort Dodge vaccine and it is the first time he took a Pfizer-Defensor, and then this. He taked off it but I’m suffering to know that it is fatal. I’m searching about it ’cause in Brazil we don’t have studies yet, and all I’ve found until now is that the cause is the adjuvant but not the vaccine. I don’t know what to do, he is recovering from the surgery and we don’t have money to do the chemotherapy. About your experence, do you recommend chemotherapy/radiotherapy or it will be more pain for nothing? Thanks a lot, Vanelle.

    • Vanelle,
      I’m so sorry to hear about your kitty cat! VAS does have some success cases, so don’t lose heart!

      I would strongly advise you to join our VAS yahoo group! Please join and then post introducing yourself. We have a member named Erica who also lives in Brazil and perhaps she could be of some help!

      Chicken had VAS in her scruff area (back of her neck) so amputation was not an option. She then had 21 radiation therapy treatments (which cost >$5000) and two chemotherapy sessions (which was <$500).

      I wish all the luck to you and your kitty!!! Please join our VAS Yahoo group!

Leave a Reply

