Nope. Nada. No chemo.

Well, Chicken’s white blood count is still low, so Dr. Harris would like to see Chicken in two weeks for an exam and to test her blood again. This will be her fourth test. Good thing the tests are pretty affordable!

For the past month Chicken has been throwing up off and on and I couldn’t figure out why. I had a feeling that maybe Chicken was allergic to chicken (oh, the irony)! I am feeding her solely Wellness canned turkey and I made 5# of raw turkey food for the cats last night and she loved it! Fingers crossed that this solves the problem! It’s hard to get a cat to gain weight when she throws up all the time. I also caught her drinking a lot of water in the middle of the night a couple of times. I tested her blood sugar and it was 53, so diabetes was out!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I started using a humidifier and that really helped her with the drinking!

I have a lot of experience with feline diabetes as one of our other cats, Sue, has feline diabetes. Sue was on insulin for 5 weeks and was switched to an all wet, low carb diet. He then went “off the juice” (into remission) and has been off of insulin for over three months now! Feline diabetes is a really scary and stressful disease, but it is also extremely manageable! I hope that at some point in the future I can foster diabetic cats. Two great resources for feline diabetes are Dr. Pierson’s site and The Feline Diabetes Message Board.

Check out Chicken on Facebook and be sure to “like” her page!
Chicken the Cat on Facebook

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nope. Nada. No chemo.

  1. Ettel E says:

    Did you hear about the recall of Wellness?!?!!? PLEASE make sure the food you’re feeding isn’t tainted – that’s the last thing she needs!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. I sure did. My lots were all okay. Luckily the affected cans were missing thiamin and not tainted with anything gross. I only keep one case on hand at a time and we go through a lot here since we have FOUR cats!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

