Heavy Hearts

It is with a very heavy heart that I tell you that Chicken passed away on Saturday, December 17, 2011 at 5:30 p.m. She developed a blood clot called a straddle thrombus which caused her back legs to not work. We took her to the CARE Center where she developed a second clot which traveled to her brain. Unfortunately, she did not recover and passed away shortly after.

I will continue to write more on the blog in a little while. I have a lot of Chicken stories to share with you, including how she came to us and how she got her name.

Right now our hearts are broken and we are adjusting to life without her.
Pfizer

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Heavy Hearts

  1. Therese Ball says:

    We look forward to you continuing to share your happy memories of Chicken. I will never forget those beautiful eyes … they were so human, so intelligent & understanding. She was such a unique, soulful little personality … I’ve never encountered another kitty like her. She was truly a gift from heaven.

  2. chupkar says:

    I am so very very sorry. ((((hugs)))))

  3. Jimmie says:

    Writing helps ease the pain.. so when you are ready, we are waiting to hear more stories of “Chicken the Cat”….sweet Chicken.. you will always be remembered.

  4. Denise says:

    I am so very sorry you lost your beloved Chicken. You went through so much together! You all will be in my thoughts and prayers.

  5. Rachel Abbott says:

    So Sorry for your loss. Chicken was the sweetest girl, even when we had to take her pictures and she didn’t feel like it. She will never be forgotten.

  6. Annalisa says:

    I ran into your blog through catinfo.org and even though I don’t know you, I feel for you. I’m so sorry for your loss…Jimmy is right about how writing eases the pain. When my sweet kitty died this November, the only way I was able to process her loss was by writing about her life and all that was special to me, about her. I’m still mourning her loss, but each passing day gets a little better, but I will always miss my sweet girl. Chicken will always live in your heart. (((HUGS))) She’ll be waiting for you on the other side.

  7. Jennifer says:

    Hi, so sorry to hear of your loss. Poor kitty. The pain you must be going through is tough. Take solace in that you gave kitty a good life. Take care of yourself.

  8. Allison Nicolas says:

    I am so sorry to hear about Chicken. I know you gave her the best care possible. Take care! I’m looking forward to hearing more stories about her!

    – Allison & Trixie

  9. Tiffany says:

    We’re in UK and are losing a beloved cat to VAS, probably in the next few weeks or months. We also just lost a beloved pet 2 days after Christmas so are deeply in grief too about that. Big hugs to you XX

  10. Pat says:

    My vet told me to NOT use any vaccination with k in the vaccine, such as FELV-K. This is the kill vaccine that has caused sarcomas type cancer in the area where the needle was injected. It may be made by Fort Dodge or Pfitzer, or any other company. The major factor is k (kill) in FELV-K vaccine can cause the malignant tumor around the injection site. It is rare but can cause the muscle in the area to become hard, and could spread later in life.. The Western Farms store sells the FELV-k vaccine, and I no longer use it. She said instead to use a ‘modified live virus’ type vaccine.

  11. Pat says:

    Whoops maybe this was not the page I wanted to put the above post, but anyway, I was very sad to hear this story, and others.

  12. Dear Jenny,

    This is so sad.
    Chicken had such a wonderful life with you and your family. And she will not be forgotten.
    Warmest regards,
    Monika

  13. @Pat
    Unfortunately, not only killed (inactivated) vaccines can cause sarcomas in cats. Vaccine-associated (or rather, vaccine-caused) sarcomas did occur in cats who never had been given killed vaccines. Recommended reading: Lisa A. Pierson’s, DVM website
    http://catinfo.org/?link=vaccines
    Regards,
    Monika

Leave a Reply

